Back To School Prayer Challenge, Day 3: Ourselves

child and parent
“Train up a child in the way he should go;
even when he is old he will not depart from it.”
~Proverbs 22:6

“It kills you to see them grow up.
But I guess it would kill you quicker if they didn’t.”
~Barbara Kingsolver

Before we get to the days where we pray specific things for our children for this school year, I wanted to take some time to pray about the outside influences on them: teachers, classmates, and now us. Moms (and dads), sometimes we just need some prayer too, don’t we? As excited as my kids are to head to school next week, I am not looking forward to the early mornings, rushing to get them to school on time, making sure homework and school projects are completed, making lunches (ugh), and keeping up with any extracurricular activities they might be doing. It can sometimes seem like a VERY long nine months. And that’s when things are normal.

But what if you have a child that is not enjoying school? When I was in sixth grade, I hated the school I was attending. I didn’t know anyone, the teachers seemed mean, I was overwhelmed with lockers, schedules, switching classes, homeroom, etc. I worked myself up into a stomach ache almost every single morning before school. I remember sitting in the car begging my mom to let me stay home — she made me go. In hindsight, I’m glad she made me…I survived the year and got used to things. But I’m sure that wasn’t easy for my mom – dealing with my tears and a stomach ache brought on by pure stress and anxiety in an 11-year old. Fast forward 20+ years, and I had my six year old son in tears each morning, not wanting to go to school because he was going to miss me. Plunge a knife into my heart and then just stir. So hard. Part of me wanted to scoop him up in my arms, tell him he never had to be away from me again, and drive him right back home. The other part of me wanted him to suck it up and stop because it was killing me! I made him go anyway. And I cried many tears as I drove away each morning.

So clearly, the school year doesn’t affect JUST our kids. It can be a source of excitement, pride, sadness, frustration, anger….you name it…for us. So parents, let’s take some time today and pray for us. Maybe you want to focus on being more patient with your kids this year when they’re working on homework. Maybe you want to be more involved in helping at the school, but need more energy and focus to do it.  Sometimes we just need a simple prayer of reliance on the Lord to get us through those mornings where we are so tired, that the coffee will never be strong enough, or those evenings, when bedtime never seems to happen on time. I’ll leave that to you today – talk to the Lord about what you need this year. And if you’re stressing over making lunches for the kids, here’s a list of some great ideas that I’m going to try:

http://www.peanutblossom.com/blog/2013/08/lunchbox-recipes.html/

Tomorrow, we’ll be praying for our children to be committed students this year. Have a great day!!

 

Posted on August 13, 2014, in Back To School. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

